Member Countries of the CEGSS


Dear colleagues,

Due to the decision of the management of the European Society for Separation Sciences (EuSSS) to dissolve it (decision of the Register Court of Bayreuth; Bayern, of November 8, 2023), the rights to administer and reward outstanding scientists in the field of separation techniques and related ones, the Tswiett and Nernst Award (statuette and diploma), were transferred to the Central European Group for Separation Sciences (CEGSS).

The Board of this award, in accordance with the statute and regulations, in the first stage nominates candidates, and in the second stage, together with the winners from previous editions (the list is available on the CEGSS home page in the Award table), selects them (max. two, one from each country- Western, Central and Eastern Europe).

We would like to invite all organizations that operate in Europe in the field of separation techniques and related techniques to the work of the Chapter. The new, modified rules of the award will be published on the CEGSS website and in the J. Sep. Sci. The award will be presented at one of the International Symposium on Chromatography (ISC) or International Symposium on Separation Sciences (ISSS), both symposiums organized in Europe. 


Kind regards, 

Prof. Dr. Boguslaw Buszewski 

President of CEGSS and T&N Board Award 


The main aim of the Group is coordination and co-organization of international symposia on separation sciences within Central European Countries, by paying particular attention to:

  • To deepening cooperation among separation scientists within Central European countries;
  • To widening  cooperation of separation scientists from other European countries and oversea. To fulfill the above challenges, CEGSS should act as an umbrella institution for coordination and co-organization of symposia and conferences devoted to separation sciences in  general and to specific areas of separation sciences in particular. CEGGS should help identification and coordination of themes, dates and venues of meetings in order to prevent interference worldwide;
  • The rules for the meeting organization are as follows: One general meeting per year is supported by or held under the auspices of CEGSS. Organization of local or regional meetings should be concerted to prevent overlap and competition;
  • Registration fees and accommodation costs are to be kept as low as possible to allow the participation of as many young researchers as possible;
  • Special care should be taken of the young generation of separation scientists by offering awards at particular symposia;
  • CEGSS is an non-profit society;
  • CEGSS coordinates its activities with the European Society for Separation Sciences;
  • The activities and organization of CEGSS are based on mutual agreement of the member societies;
  • The seat of the Society is with the host of the current symposium;
  • CEGSS is ruled by a Steering Committee
  • Acting chairperson of the current symposium acts as the head of the CEGSS Steering Committee. She or he has duties and responsibilities to coordinate all activities in between two consecutive symposia;
  • Members of the Steering Committee communicate by electronic mail between and during the annual symposia;
  • At the meeting in Lipica, SLO (2006) the idea to establish a position of secretary was proposed to assist the acting head of CEGSS in his activities. Late Dr.  Nikola Šegudović was proposed as the first secretary. The rules of election remain to be elaborated;
  • In the near future, there will still be enough time, subjects, and space for the CEGSS activities in the form established so far;


Prof. Boguslaw Buszewski

President for 2019-2024

Dr. Virginia Coman

General Secretary 2019-2024

Prof. Danilo Coradini

Chairman 2023-2024


Copyright © 2012 by Central European Group for Separation Sciences